Recipient of Don Stuart Award

2014 Donald M. Stewart Award Recepient




Winnipeg, 17 October 2014 - At the 2014 RIMS Canada Conference, the RIMS Ontario Chapter presented the Donald M. Stuart Award to Anne Chalmers, Vice President Risk & Security and Chair, Materials Stewardship Committee for Teck Resources. Widely recognized as Canada’s highest honour within the risk management field, the Donald M. Stuart Award has been bestowed annually since 1979 by the RIMS Ontario Chapter (ORIMS) to celebrate Canadians who have made outstanding contributions in the risk management profession.

“Anne Chalmers brings a palpable passion to her work that has allowed her to successfully manage and elevate the global risk management program for one of the world’s largest mining companies,” said Paul Provis, Chair of the Donald Stuart Nominating Committee and vice president of ORIMS. “Beyond her professional accomplishments, Anne continues to demonstrate a profound commitment to the future of risk management as an educator, lecturer, author and, most importantly, a RIMS volunteer. It is with great honour that ORIMS presents the Donald M. Stuart Award to this most deserving individual.”

As Vice President of Risk and Security for Teck Resources, Canada’s largest diversified mining, mineral processing and metallurgical company, Anne stands at the head of Teck’s Risk Group; a team responsible for its global risk management program. In addition to her responsibilities of risk management and corporate security she oversees loss control, emergency services, the commercial insurance program, coordinates the Crisis Management Team for the operations of Teck Resources and its partnerships and chairs the Materials Stewardship Committee. “Every day the risk management profession allows us to take on new challenges, interact with new people and departments and, collaboratively, develop and implement solutions that have a direct impact on our organization’s success,” said Ms. Chalmers. “Sharing my experiences has been extremely rewarding and I encourage others to get involved in this thriving risk management community and do the same. I am humbled and honoured to be recognized by my peers as this year’s Donald M. Stuart Award recipient.”

Anne joined RIMS in the mid-1980’s and is a member of the Society’s British Columbia Chapter based in Vancouver. She is a member of the RIMS Annual Conference Programming Committee, director on the Board of OIL Casualty Insurance Company in Bermuda, a director of Mining Insurance Group, a member of FM Global Risk Management Council, and is a director of STAND Foundation, a not for profit public foundation whose purpose is to support the enhancement of skills, knowledge and livelihoods of marginalized young adults in the Greater Vancouver area.